Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

My tripfgewerklichzeitungspielhaus needs recalibrating

Monday, Nov. 24, 2003
10:34 a.m.
Why is it that when there is a problem, the kids don�t wake their Dad at 1:30 a.m. to fix it, but me? I was lying in bed, trying not to notice that my stomach was making �feed me� noises, when Daughter tiptoed into the bedroom, and said, �Mom, I need help,� whereupon I rose, enbathrobed my pyjama-clad form, and traipsed upstairs to see what the heck was so urgent at that ungawdly hour. She had been working on a French paper all weekend, and was trying to print it out, but the printer kept spewing out blank pages. So, I tried a test pattern, and lo, no black ink was appearing on the page. So, I tried to do a print-head alignment test, and it wouldn�t. At all. In fact, the button on the computer screen would flicker when the cursor attempted to approach it with intent to activate. Hmmmm� interesting�

So, being the creative mom that I am, I copied the essay onto a Zip� disk, and reopened it on the other computer in a different program (she uses Appleworks, I use Word), which meant that all the formatting had to be redone, and then she was able to print it on the laser printer. But it was past two when I crawled back into bed next to my quietly-snoring cohabitant, unable to sleep once more, for added to my stomach trying to digest itself and the gentle sleep sounds coming from my partner, was the nagging knowledge that I would have to deal with the printer problem somehow, probably by phoning the Canon hotline and being told it needs its tripfgewerklichzeitungspielhaus recalibrated.

I have noticed that other diarists somehow manage to insert pictures in their entries. Wilberteets had a great shot of her chihuahua yesterday, and tcklyrpharsn does it all the time with photos etc., and I would really like to post some pictures too. In fact, I have started wondering if it isn�t time to become a little more html literate and make my template more interesting than just default mauve. This is why I marvel at the children�s faith in my computer-related abilities, when they are in such a paucity. Hubby, who knows a heckuvalot more about computers than I do, is allowed to sleep blissfully while I am running print-head tests, etc. This does not seem right. If I am going to be called upon in this fashion, I should at least have some knowledge to back it up.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>