Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Back to work.

Monday, June 5, 2006
8:21 p.m.
It has been a rather painful time in the Elgan household of late, not counting my sore hip (I can now say hip instead of back since the pain seems to have localized itself, which doesn�t mean it�s really any less painful). I think Buddy Boy is the only one who has been spared.

Little Princess� piercing-induced infection reached a head last night when she whimpered for me to help her. I found her in the bathroom, trying to remove the offending stud, but it was so deeply embedded in the swollen pinna that she couldn�t get a grip on it, and couldn�t tolerate the self-inflicted pain.

So, I got out her handy-dandy needlenose pliers (which I gave her as a belated birthday present), disinfected them in Dettol, and yanked out the lower stud, revealing a gaping hole that leaked blood and other nasty stuff. I also removed the top stud, even though it wasn�t infected, lest it become so. Then I cleaned up the whole area with more Dettol, applied antibiotic ointment and bandaged her up. She was actually having pain in her neck, the gland swelling from the poison building up in her system. Perhaps, if the swelling goes down sufficiently and soon, she can replace the top stud (if the hole hasn�t closed too much), but I would not recommend that she do so with the bottom one.

My darling husband was also suffering terribly with that sore tooth of his, and was finally able to get a-hold of someone this morning and saw the dentist this afternoon. He came home in more pain than he�d left, the dentist beginning a root canal right then and there. Unfortunately, there was still a bit of feeling left in the nerve, and Hubby does not respond readily to the anaesthetic. He has several more visits before the job is completed. We�ve been paying into a dental plan at the university all these years, it looks like we�re finally going to get something back out of it.

Last night we looked up root canal on the web, and found a site with animated pictures and very detailed descriptions of the procedures, so I have a pretty good idea of what is involved with this procedure. Hubby said it was just like that, and it hurt like hell. It was like torture. Poor guy.

My Finale problems are all solved, thanks to the friendly fellow at the support line. I just reregistered the product while he had me on the phone, and it�s working perfectly now. I am much relieved.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>