Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy Valentine’s Day, you kids!

Sunday, Feb. 14, 2010
9:04 p.m.
The days just keep flowing by and... will you look at that? It’s already Valentine’s Day! I have been sitting in this chair, working on the parts for Hubby’s opera, and my ass has turned into a turnip, or some other root vegetable. Not a carrot. Something turnip-like, in any case. It’s a never-ending story, it seems.

Yesterday, after a long day at work, Hubby and I watched a movie he’d rented, the one set in the future where people stay at home in their bathrobes and send their personalities abroad in robots. It was a cautionary tale, as science fiction usually is, and pretty good, too. I enjoyed it.

He also bought me a dozen red roses from the supermarket (the florist was all out of roses) and a card. I had absolutely nothing for him.

But today he went out to play tennis and I went to see a kids’ movie at the university. I used to take Little Princess and Buddy Boy when they were wee to those things, and I love them. It was the one about the planet of humanoid creatures who are just like us and an American astronaut arrives to plant the U.S. flag on alien soil... except he’s the alien. It was absolutely delightful.

I was accompanied by Ed and a couple who wed last Halloween and are three days or so pregnant with their first child. I was surprised that they’re spreading the news around so soon, but that’s their business. After the film, we went into town so I could shop for something for my husband, and I ended up getting him a card, a box of three chocolate hearts, and a jar of sweet pickled onions. Hey, we cracked it open at dinner and it wasn’t half bad!



|

<~~~ * ~~~>