Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Another Mother�s Day bites the dust.

Sunday, May 8, 2005
10:02 p.m.
When the kids were little, Hubby used to have them help prepare breakfast in bed for me. It was really sweet and cute the way they�d bring a tray with more food than I would normally eat for breakfast and lunch combined, little toothpick flags labelling everything. However, I have never enjoyed eating breakfast in bed. It�s awkward at best and always reminds me of being sick somehow. No, my idea of Mother�s Day is a little different than that.

My ideal Mother�s Day would be spent in the company of girlfriends or at a spa or just off by myself somewhere, and when I returned the house would be clean, the laundry done, the shopping taken care of and a delicious and healthful meal prepared and on the table. That is what I�d really like, that the people for whom I perform all these mundane tasks every day in turn do them for me. But I know it is not to be. Sigh.

Instead, I received cards, flowers (a beautiful pot of dark pink azalias), chocolate (a bar with 85% cocoa content), and dinner out (Sunday buffet at Shalimar), followed by two hours of mindless television watching (Simpsons, Family Guy and American Dad--the latter I don�t think I ever want to see again) in the company of my boys. Little Princess is hard at work trying to finish all her papers for school. I telephoned my mom to wish her a happy Mother�s Day, and Buddy Boy and I went for a walk. Actually, that was the highlight of my day. I have great kids and I really, really enjoy spending time with them. Now if only the weather would improve.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>