Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Dress rehearsal blues

Thursday, Nov. 3, 2005
11:35 p.m.
Finally, I can sit down at the computer and compose an entry for today, before today is almost gone. We had our dress rehearsal tonight. It was not what I expected of a dress rehearsal, i.e. a run-through of the programme from beginning to end with minimal stopping to fix up last minute problems. This was a nightmare.

I should remember from the electro-acoustic concert we did a year ago that anything involving electronic equipment, in this case amplifiers, mixers, monitors and microphones, takes longer to set up than just wheeling a piano onto the stage or setting up chairs and stands for a string quartet. We were scheduled to start at 6:00 p.m. We didn�t actually start making music until 40 minutes later. Then there were glitches here and there, people wanted to do stuff over, and we wrapped it up at almost 11:00 p.m. As I was leaving to put the microphones in Hubby�s office, the students who were holding a karaoke and pizza evening in the lobby (the pizza was all gone, sadly) prevailed upon me to sing one song, so I did: California Dreaming by the M0mmas and the P0ppas. It was fun. I�d never done the karaoke thing before.

Then I got in the car (I had the Volvo tonight), zoomed home, almost hit a deer which was standing still in the middle of the road when I turned onto Atto, fixed myself a plate of leftover tortellini (thank heaven for leftovers) and was eating it while catching up on my buddy list when the phone rang. Hubby had given his keys to the student doing sound so he could get into the booth, but the guy had accidentally given him back his own keys, and my poor darling was stranded, not able to get into his office where he�d left his coat and car keys. So I had to zoom back to the university where I helped him into his office (I have a master key, you see), and locked up the hall and other doors before returning home where I am at last updating my diary. I�m also drinking a Smirn0ff Twisted Green Apple vodka beverage, but that is beside the point.

I wore my new stilleto-heeled gold sandals for five hours, and even though I had no feeling left in my toes by the end of the evening, I didn�t twist an ankle, nor skid across the stage, and I found that if I took mincing steps I could actually get from point A to B. So, they should be fine tomorrow night. And now Hubby is downing a plate of warmed up tortellini, and I will join him.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>