Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Lilacs and laundry

Friday, May 26, 2006
10:02 p.m.
Lo, we had sunshine today, and warm temperatures. I was able to hang out a load of laundry and walk my daughter to the university where the door to the physics lab was locked, so we sat on the grass in the quad and she narrated her power-point presentation on IDL to me. I admit, I�m a total retard when it comes to these things and I found that if my attention waivered even momentarily, I became totally and hopelessly lost.

I then proceeded to the music department where I had planned on practising the music for the upcoming UpIands concert, but I became quickly disheartened. Yesterday Vlad called to let me know when the next rehearsals were and I asked her how the one without me had gone. Apparently it had gone very well and the balance was perfect, so �please be careful when you rejoin the group.� I felt like blurting out, �What the hell do you need me for then if it was perfect without me?� However, I did not, but the whole think rankles and for that reason I was slighty depressed.

The rehearsal tonight was in the chapel of the private school, an echoey place wherein we heard each other with difficulty, the piano was out of tune, and I started losing bits of my voice towards the end (this is what comes of not practising regularly--let that be a lesson to you!), so I left early. Happily Vlad didn�t make any comments about the sopranos backing off, but she will when we get back into the concert hall next week.

The weather could not stay dry. It was just starting to sprinkle when I drove over to the chapel (a 10-minute walk from our house), but it was pouring when I came out. There are little green fruits already forming on my Siberian apricot tree, and the cherry tree has been blossoming for a few days already. The lilacs are coming out and the world smells all right.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>