Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sure is quiet around here�

Saturday, Dec. 24, 2005
8:28 p.m.
A truly wonderful thing happened this afternoon, something that was unexpected and yet mundane all at the same time. I got up earlier than was strictly necessary (damn clock woke me at 6 a.m. and then again at 7 a.m.) and Little Princess, Buddy Boy and I rolled out the prepared dough from the night before and cut out men and women. I have two cutters that have designs on them, charming gingerbread men, especially one that dates from my own childhood that I begged off my mother several years ago. It is the quintessential Little Gingerbread Man of the nursery story. The other two are mere outlines, one male the other female, and in a fit of perversity I gave one a penis and another breasts. With the last of the dough we also made a couple of ampersands, which is an in joke and not to be explained here.

Anyway, at five minutes to four the doorbell rang. Our company (Hubby�s guitar and squash/tennis buddy) wasn�t due until 6:00, so we were rather perplexed. It turned out to be the Duke with his daughter, delivering Christmas baking (as you may recall, we were left off their list last year). We invited them in so that I could give them a hunk of fruit cake which I had neglected to wrap earlier and they got to hear the clock chime 4 o�clock, we plied them with Nanaimo bars and chatted for a good 40 minutes before they left to deliver the rest of their packages. Now, wasn�t that nice?

However, when I started to get to work on preparing supper, I realized I had neglected to buy mozzarella cheese when I was out yesterday, an integral part of a lasagne, so Hubby betook himself to the store to purchase some, and as they were closing at 5 p.m., he got there in the nick of time. Our guest was a little late, but dinner was delicious. They (Hubby, our guest, Buddy Boy and Little Princess) are jamming on amplified instruments downstairs and I am in the attic, as far away as I can get without actually leaving the building. I�m supposed to join them at some point for a blues number or two. We�ll see.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>