Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Not so grand Finale.

Wednesday, Apr. 19, 2006
10:38 a.m.
When I was a teenager (if I can remember back that far) and had heavy menstrual bleeding, there would be mornings when I would wake up in a puddle of blood and have to change the sheets and generally have a hissy fit because I was going to be late for school, or just didn�t want to deal with the mess. Invariably my mother ended up soaking the stains and being late for work. Now that I am the mother of a teenaged girl, I have experienced the same thing myself. Wow, what goes around comes around.

But that isn�t what I wanted to talk about. What I meant to say was that I used to sleep so deeply that no amount of blood loss would wake me (in the same way that my kids will sleep through the smoke detector or the alarm system going off; what is it with these guys?) whereas now I am roused by any sudden sensation in my nether region that flooding is imminent, allowing me to get to the bathroom in time to avoid soiling the clean sheets I just put on the bed yesterday. When I am menstruating, I sleep poorly, always aware in the back of my mnd (is that like the corner of my eye?) that something is happening down there. Unfortunately, since my periods seem to have established themselves at intervals of less than three weeks, this is happening more and more often, especially since I seem to bleed enough to supply a burn ward on these occasions.

Yes, I agree, we�ve all had enough of that.

I am getting used to this newest version of Finale, but it still irks me at times because there are things that go wrong and I don�t know why. For instance, I just finished copying the orchestral reduction (or is it called a �piano� reduction?) for Hubby�s viola concerto which is being played at a viola congress in Montreal in June (he wants to have scores and parts available for all the eager violists who are going to be beating down his door wanting to play it after they hear it), and dammitall! page 2 won�t print properly. It�s a rather dense page, packed full of aleatoric notation, and it took me ages to get just right, which I finally did, only to have part of the first system show up and the rest of the page not. Grrrr! So I have emailed the appropriate support system and await a reply. (Insert here the sound of hair being torn out of my head.)

The weather is beautiful. Do I stay indoors and work on my Latin homework (which I have been sadly neglecting) or do I go outside and rake the lawn? Let me see, homework or yardwork? Hmmm� That�s a toughie. There�s always laundry to be washed and hung out. Let�s start from there, shall we?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>