Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I can see for miles and miles and miles.

Thursday, Jun. 16, 2005
11:29 a.m.
I had great intentions of adding a real entry yesterday, but it got late and I got tired, and that�s all the excuse you�re getting from me.

Geographically the area I live in is the farthest northern reach of the Appalachian chain, so we have highs and we have lows. We also have river valleys with wide flood plains, and the city of Sh�brooke is situated along the St. Francis and Magog rivers, the last confluing with the former near the heart of downtown as it wends it�s way towards the St. Lawrence. Our own town, which is actually a borough (or arondissement as they say around here) because of the forced merger policies of our former PQ government (sssssss!) also lies along the St. Francis. I am only telling you this so that you can understand that in order to get to Costco (for example) one has to proceed across country in a westerly direction (if you want to avoid Sh�brooke traffic, that is), up the steep slope of our river valley and along the top of the high ground, always rising slightly until you get to the gravel pit, where the land suddenly dips down and the whole vista of the Magog River flood plain is laid out in front of you with Mt. Orford and her accompanying mountains bounding the horizon. It is a breathtaking view. If I could find a picture, I would post it.

Yesterday I drove into a west heavy with dark grey rain clouds, and as I topped the rise, just before making my rapid descent to the right-hand-turn below, I saw sheets of rain obscuring the mountains and great bolts of lightning streaking towards their summits. The rain hit us just as I was getting out of my car in the parking lot, but let up again shortly thereafter and when I came out with my Perrier and laundry detergent I didn�t need to open my umbrella. However, after quickly unloading my purchases at home and heading out again to Waterville (about 15 minutes to the south) to pick up Buddy Boy from his friend�s place, we stopped at Provigo in town where I finished the grocery shopping, and came out to the car in a downpour, umbrellaless.

Last night�s dress rehearsal went, period. We are still rather ragged in places, people (I won�t name names) are still buried in their music, never looking up, and as Herr Doktor Professor and I came out of the building (it was not raining) at 10:00 p.m. we both remarked how Vlad complains that we are slowing down while she is actually conducting us, but what she doesn�t realize is that she�s also slowing down. Conducting is an aerobic activity and requires a fair amount of right-arm strength and stamina. Vlad is a stout woman who is not in great shape, and she just doesn�t have the upper body strength or stamina to keep up a beat. Especially when she is also singing. Anyway, it�ll be a fun concert. The local barbershop quartet (two of whom sing in the UMS) are performing a set, and they are very, very entertaining. Here is the poster for tonight�s concert.

And now, if you don�t mind, I have to pick Buddy Boy up from school since he�s finished his history exam (grade 10) and has nothing left for the rest of the day.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>