Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Deck the halls

Sunday, Dec. 14, 2008
4:56 p.m.
Last night was the faculty/staff Christmas party, which gave Hubby and me an excuse to dress up and get a free meal. It was incredibly cold and I wore a short dress which left my knees exposed for the brief walk from the car to the dining hall and back again. Brrrr! The air conditioning (WTF?) was on and all evening we had a cold wind blowing on our backs. I am really, really glad I decided to wear the dress I did (it’s sleeveless, but has a matching jacket which I kept on all through dinner) instead of some sexy number with spaghetti straps.

We sat with Kevin O and a couple of students who are in the choir (apparently the entire student body received invitations to this event, but most have written their exams and skedaddled) and socially it was a good time. The meal was fine if you eat meat (very heavy on the turkey, ham and tourtière St-Jean) but not so great for us vegetarians. As well, the constant north wind blowing on us cooled off the food on my plate rather quickly, which didn’t help.

A band played 70’s tunes after dinner, and watching middle-aged university professors dance is always entertaining. I got Hubby up for a couple of turns around the dance floor, but we were both aching from shoveling the driveway yesterday morning, so we didn’t do anything too strenuous. In fact, I was yawning so much I asked to leave quite early, but Hubby wanted to wait until Kevin’s girlfriend finished working (she was our server in the dining hall) so that he wouldn’t be sitting alone. His girlfriend was carrying a large tray of glasses into the kitchen and tripped over a milk carton someone had left right in the doorway, and which she didn’t see because the tray in her arms obscured her vision, and fell, breaking lots of glassware with a resounding crash. Oh well, I guess that makes it a party.

Today has been quiet. I wrote the annual year-end letter (very brief, less than a page this year), shopped for groceries and Christmas cards and tonight we will stuff envelopes. Buddy Boy is also coming home this evening, so I made his bed with clean linen. I wish Little Princess were coming home sooner than next week, but them’s the breaks.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>