Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

What fools these mortals be!

Tuesday, Jun. 13, 2006
11:50 p.m.
Hubby and I are back from the theatre. We went to see the second cast of the Shakespeare of which I wrote a couple of days ago. I actually prefered this Titania, she has more chutzpah than the other. Great show.

I took advantage of the beautiful weather today (finally!) to take a walk and to get my plants in. My little vegetable patch now boasts six tomato plants, two clumps of parsley, one clump of garlic chives and four packages of basil seed, neatly (and hopefully evenly) strewn, all watered, with a fresh sprinkling of rain as we came out of the theatre. I also planted a clump of chocolate mint (honestly, that's what it's called) in the front flower garden, and some spearmint I have been nursing along in a pot next to the begonias.

When we were little, my parents used to take us to one of the conservation areas around T0r0nt0 near a little town called W00dbridge where we would barbecue on a hibachi at the entrance to the nature walk. There was a stream where my brothers and I would build damns, piling stones and caulking them with algae. Growing along the stream was spearmint, and the smell pervaded everything.

My dad brought a clump of it home and planted it in his garden. Years later my brother took some to his house and planted it in the backyard. I snitched some too from my dad's place and planted it around my own yard. It hasn't been doing so well of late, so I picked a sprig last summer and put it in a pot, finally transplanting it today, hopefully perpetuating it. Whenever I crush a leaf, I'm transported back to those childhood engineering feats.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>