Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Little Gardener

Tuesday, Jun. 22, 2004
12:15 p.m.
At long last the white box has deigned to appear at my command. In the meantime I have clicked on banners, left notes and scratched mosquito bites obtained in the line of duty.

This morning, armed with a rake, a garden spade, a trowel and a dibber, I finished putting in my vegetable garden. First I had to repair the damage done by the neighbourhood wildlife, then I planted my six Better Boy tomato plants, five curly-leaf parsley plants, four packages of basil seed, three French hens, two turtle doves and a partridge in a pear tree. No, I�m mistaken, the pear tree got winter killed. Sigh�

I also planted several garlic cloves which had been in the fridge. There�s a reason they tell you not to store garlic in the fridge. When you take it out, it thinks it�s spring and starts growing. Not only does it sprout, but the outer layers dry out so you are forced to discard them and use the bulb inside. It just seems rather wasteful to me. So I planted them instead (hence the dibber) so that they will make themselves useful come pesto-making time.

The prediction is rain, but so far it is holding off, which is good for the tennis player in the family. I watered my plantings anyway, not wanting them to dry out waiting for the heavens to oblige. But the whole time I was working I was surrounded by a little cloud of midges who tried to take up residence in my eyes and nose and ears. I think they were just the distracting army so that I wouldn�t notice the mosquitoes and black flies sent to do the real damage. At least one black fly got me, leaving an open wound on my temple. Bastard! The mosquitoes were luckier, and left me with a few lumps, including one in my hair part. Fiends!

Now I�m hoping for a hot, humid summer (I can�t believe I just said that) in order to ensure a bumper tomato and basil crop. Pesto�mmmm�

|

<~~~ * ~~~>