Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Merry Ho Ho Ho (NOT)

Tuesday, May. 4, 2004
7:22 a.m.
As you can tell by the early hour, I have just barely gotten out of bed. It is May 4, and just the day before yesterday I was complaining that we have totally missed out on spring, having leaped from winter into summer. Well, ladies and gentlemen, Mother Nature is a bitch. As I write this, great fluffy flakes of snow are falling. The ground and the car and the rooftops in the neighbourhood are covered with a thin blanket of white. If I were not seeing it with my own eyes, I would not believe it. Except that this is Canada, where our neighbours to the south believe that it�s perpetual winter. Well, I guess they must be right.

Yesterday I made appointments at the garage to have the snowtires removed from both cars. Am I premature? Should I wait another month? Wasn�t I just wearing shorts and a tank top the other day? GIVE ME A BREAK! I was planning a trip to the nursery to get bedding plants. There is, in the Great Scheme of Things, a plan to keep me from carrying out my own plans.

On the other hand, I am making a mountain out of a molehill. This white shit will stop falling soon as the temperature rises, it will melt, and it will (hopefully) not return until next November (probably October though). But in the meantime I am going to complain mightily at the vagaries of the weather. Just try to stop me!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>