Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I must be down to a B-cup by now!

Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004
10:41 p.m.
Okay, this is exactly the kind of thing I am not supposed to be writing in my diary, but my feelings are every so slightly bruised, and I shall vociferate now, and possibly erase later.

I watch TV so rarely, although I must admit that since I�ve been sick I have been doing it more. Also, Sunday night is traditionally the family viewing night when we watch the new episode of The Simpsons together, and then some of us remain to watch Malcolm in the Middle. But I digress. This being Sunday evening, Buddy Boy and I were minding our own business, watching our 55" television and enjoying seeing Bart hauled off to Juvie for some really big infraction this time, when the phone rang. It was Little Princess� BF�s mother, who wanted to take up Hubby�s offer of a comp for next Saturday night�s concert. I said I would pass on the message, since Hubby and Little Princess were at a rehearsal, and thus missed the entire end of the episode.

Next the phone rang somewhere during Malcolm in the Middle, and it was my in-laws calling from Florida. Chit chat took place, and when my health was inquired after, I confessed that I was getting over a pretty bad cold. My MIL asked how I got that and I supposed I got it while on the picket line. She said, �What were you doing on the picket line?� and I replied, �I�m in the same union as your son.� Well, surprise, surprise. My own mother-in-law was totally unaware that I have been teaching singing for the university since 1988! That is a whole SIXTEEN years! What the hell did she think I�ve been doing all this time? Seriously! Oh, she thought I just taught privately. Well, maybe that is understandable, since I do teach private lessons, but I have been getting a paycheque from this particular institution of higher learning since I was pregnant with their youngest grandchild! You can bet that my feelings were ever so slightly bruised.

Okay, I have now got that off my chest. That�s the second chest lightening today.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>