Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The academy and the extasy

Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004
9:57 a.m.
Yesterday at noon was the annual beginning-of-the-year meeting for all music students. Hubby presided, explaining the rules about concert attendance, the different applied music courses, et cetera, so on and so forth. It was pretty dull. We seem to have an awful lot of new students, though, and some of them appear to be of the �mature� variety. It�s always nice to have some older people in the department; it lends a certain balance.

When I entered the hall for the meeting, I sat at the back taking an empty seat next to the Duke, someone I am not all that happy with and whom I will never completely trust again, but whom I have to work with nonetheless and may as well be nice to. Shortly thereafter, his wife, the Duchess, whom at one time I counted as one of my best friends, and whom I also do not trust entirely, came in and took the vacant chair on my other side. I tried not to feel uncomfortable although it was difficult to suppress those emotions, and the Duchess actually made conversation with me as though the spring�s unpleasantness had never happened. Perhaps it never did in her and her mate�s books. It could be that they have no idea that my husband and I were hurt very badly by their actions. I am absolutely sure that they think they were doing the �right� thing and that Hubby was the bad guy in this case, when all he was trying to do was what would be best for the department and the university, according to the rules laid down in the collective agreement. I have tried to put these things behind me, but it is difficult because I will see these people on a regular basis professionally. I just don�t know if I can ever go back to the kind of relationship we once had. They both did thank me profusely for the peace lily.

I spoke with Herr Doktor Professor Choir Director at the prin�s reception the other day, and he said he would be absolutely delighted to have me in the choir. His fear was that I would find it too slow, but he recommended that maybe I just attend one rehearsal a week, and that would be fine, considering I have belly dancing on Thursdays from 6:00 to 7:30 p.m., and choir ends at 5:30. I could go just on Tuesdays and be none the worse for wear. Plus, I would get to know the students better and I would feel more in the loop, something I have definitely felt out of this past couple of years.

This entry, however, was supposed to be about our trip to Montreal yesterday afternoon for the performance of Hubby�s new viola concerto by his favourite string orchestra with a world-renowned violist. This was actually the fourth �world premiere� of the piece, considering the concert series happens on a Thursday and Friday, with performances at 11:00 and 5:45 both days. Hubby had been at both of Thursday�s shows, but had to miss Friday morning�s due to his duties at the university. He gave a very brief introduction from the stage, in both official languages, and was well rewarded with fine renditions every time. The audience appreciated it mightily, the soloist wants to play this piece with orchestras the world over and record it, and the musicians loved it. What more could a living composer ask for? The soloist even gave us G0diva truffles backstage afterwards.

We ate at Le Bat0n R0uge on St. Catharine Street afterwards, Hubby, Little Princess, two of Hubby�s students, and myself, sitting outside on the terrace enjoying the traffic, both vehicular and pedestrian. It was a lovely evening. My only regret was that Buddy Boy could not join us, since he had a presentation to give at school and his teacher had just given them all a lecture on absenteeism. Bummer. He did call on the cell phone during supper, which gave me a moment�s panic since I never recognize it as my cell phone ringing, and then I couldn�t find it for a moment or get the pocket zipper open. He was requesting permission to sleep over at a friend�s, which we duly granted with all the usual admonitions, and we ourselves arrived home just after midnight, still high from the whole experience. It�s not so bad being the ornament on my husband�s arm if I get to hear great music like that. Also on the programme was Tchaik0vsky�s Serenade for Strings. It was magnificent too, but in a different way.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>