Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Girl with the Pearl Earring

Wednesday, Sept. 1, 2004
10:51 p.m.
I�ve just finished watching The Girl with the Pearl Earring and my head is in a totally different space. What a beautiful film: the light, the colour, the accuracy as to 17th-century Holland, the acting. All was perfect in bringing to life the time of Ver Meer and the city of Delft. I had to get out my book of Ver Meer paintings afterwards to look up the ones shown in the film. Knowing paint as I do, I could empathize with the master as he looked upon the maid, evaluating the shades of colour, the curve of the cheek and the play of light on her face. A fine, fine piece of art.

In other news, my brother emailed me from Israel and is fine and well. Unfortunately there are many who are not. Such a waste, and such a futile gesture.

It was cool today, which was fine when I took my walk as I worked up a bit of a sweat in the bright sunshine. But later I froze in my shorts and tank top as Buddy Boy and I took a quick trip to the supermarket after picking him up some school supplies at Bureau en Gr0s. The down comforter is on the bed as we speak. I�m anticipating a good night�s sleep tonight.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>