Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The crack of lightening, the rumble of thunder.

Wednesday, Aug. 11, 2004
11:11 a.m.
We had the most spectacular thunderstorm last night, starting around midnight. I had been warned that it was on its way, having chatted with someone in Montreal an hour or so before, and it exceeded expectations. There was the usual mad dash running around the house, closing windows and unplugging sensitive electronic equipment (the Quadra is the only one that gets special treatment these days), and we did in fact suffer a momentary power failure. The wind was wild, dashing the rain against the skylights, and it was just whipping through the screens when I closed the attic window and the huge casement window in Buddy Boy�s room. Of course my baby was fast asleep. I still don�t understand how these children can sleep through constant lightening and loud rumbles of thunder that took 10 seconds to roll across the sky.

Today the world is washed clean, and the sun can�t decide if it�s coming or going, sort of like Banjo in The Man Who Came to Dinner. Hubby is off playing tennis and I am finding excuses not to do my work at the Quadra, now happily plugged back in. I think I need a holiday.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>