Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Solstice musings and good wishes

Tuesday, Dec. 21, 2004
9:36 a.m.
I haven't rambled in an entry in a while, and this, the winter solstice and coldest morning yet this season, seems like an appropriate time to do so. In fact, it is so cold that the hot-water pipe to the kitchen sink is frozen solid and I therefore cannot run the dishwasher full of last night�s dirty dishes, so I am feeling somewhat at loose ends considering there are dozens of things I could and should be doing, but as my brother (the one who does not speak to me) used to say, them�s the breaks.

First of all, on this date in 1946 my parents were married in an orthodox Jewish ceremony of which my mother understood not a word and in which she was not required to say a word. As well on this date a scant three years ago my good friends Jenn and Mark tied the proverbial knot at a ceremony designed to appease parents and affianced alike with regard to religious content. I sang at that wedding and spilled scalding hot tea on my lap at the Tim Hort0n�s we went to between the ceremony and reception. Stupid rounded-bottom teapot. I wish for Jenn and Mark at least as long and happy a marriage as my parents experienced.

Speaking of wedding anniversaries that fall on the same date, my formerly good friends the Duke and the Duchess were married one year before we were to the day, and for the past many years it had been our practice to celebrate together, going out as a foursome to a nice restaurant, taking the opportunity to dress up elegantly and dither over the wine list. We�ve had some great meals together that way, especially at the local 5-star inns (H0vey Man0r, Ripplec0ve Inn and Hatley Man0r) as well as some other, not-so-famous restaurants.

However, those social extravaganzas are in the past now. I was just wondering out loud if the Duke would be by this year with his usual gift of home-baked and decorated Christmas cookies, but Hubby thinks not. It is so sad, this falling off of an enduring friendship because of the intrusion of smarmy, weasely interlopers who are only looking to feather their own nest and care not at what expense they do it. Apparently a long-standing and loyal friendship of 16 years is not as durable in the face of this kind of battering as one would hope. How they could side with these social climbers whom they have known for two years is a mystery to me. I am saddened, especially at this time of year when we would normally be celebrating with them. New Year�s Eve was the last time we had them over, and will probably remain that way.

However, not to be totally down in the friendship department, my sojourn at Diaryland has brought me a whole raft of new friends, either through their diaries themselves or in the chatroom, and although they are far away and I will likely never set eyes on most of them, it still feels good to know that there are people of like minds out there, personalities I enjoy through the written word, and to whom I would like now to wish a very happy solstice season. May the solar year dawn bright and sunny for you tomorrow and may the lengthening of days be a metaphor for your continued good health.


from coldandgray :

Weird how friendships can take a shift like that. I agree what you said about D�land. We get it where we find it; the balance of the universe.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>