Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The blog war continues...

Thursday, Sept. 7, 2006
12:37 p.m.
[If you have not read the previous entry, it is imperative that you do, or you'll have no idea what is going on here.]

The blog wars continue. I logged in and found this further response to my last comment on the blog in question:

you know what, I'm pretty pissed off by what I see as a lot of bullshit in your comment.

I guess if you were behind me in the checkout you would assume I was well-off.

How do you KNOW who is poor and who is not? Do you follow them out to the parking lot to check on what kind of car they are driving? how do you know that car isn't borrowed? How do you know those clothes weren't bought off the clearance rack with a coupon and an associate discount?

I mean unless you're quizing people on their household income and making them present paystubs you've got no idea. Sure you can make an educated guess but I'd gaurantee I'd fool you every time. Except that I'm fat and poor people are fat because of what they eat, even though we've already established that I don't eat that way.

Also, the "If you are overweight but healthy" is condescending. I've already stated for you that I am obese and healthy and if you've read here you know that I am highly flawed and incredibly honest about it. But you know what, you've already got your mind made up, and I'm not gonna change it, no matter what I tell you or how I say it, or what evidence *I* give or observations I make. Because I am fat and consequently suspect.


My answer:
Dear, you have a problem with interpreting what I have written. I said that I wasn't attacking you, that I am making statements due to observation. I live in a small town where everyone knows everyone else at least by sight. It is also a university town with lots of Ph.D.s whom, according to your more recent entry, are very highly paid. When I meet people in the supermarket and see what's in their baskets, I pretty well know if they own or rent, what they do for a living, how many children they have, so on and so forth. There are also a lot of university students living off campus doing their own shopping. They are generally poor (at least towards the end of the month) and they are establishing shopping habits that will last them a lifetime if not curbed early. So don't accuse me of not knowing what I'm talking about.

Also, you are assuming something about me which is totally untrue. I am not being condescending towards you when I congratulate you on being a rarity. I know that there are always going to be exceptions to every rule, and you happen to be one. I do not choose my friends based on their dress size, but you are making an assumption that I do. Nor am I belittling your observations. I was merely trying to propose a solution to the problem of obesity that seems to be plaguing our society, but you have chosen to take it as a personal attack on yourself, something I had no idea of doing at all.

Now would you just destress a bit, get that foot massage and a nice soft fluffy pillow, and stop attacking me? I'm on your side, dammit.


Okay, I'm taking odds on what comes next.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>