Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I am a cunning linguist.

Friday, Sept. 10, 2004
10:11 a.m.
Salvete!

The good news is that my shock voice therapy worked. A day of voice rest (engendered by traveling on a bus and a train all day), two days of more intensive practice chez ma m�re, two days of voice rest (one day of travel, one day of slothfulness), and I am back to where I should be. Woo hoo! There really is no bad news, not along this front, anyway. I�ve been informed that the faculty recital is actually a week later than I�d hoped or dreamed (Jenn, if you�re reading this, it�ll be on the 24th, and I just know you�ll be there) and even though I have yet to get together with Vlad, in my heart of hearts I know we will be wonderful.

Well, I guess there is some bad news, but it doesn�t affect me immediately. The recital that Hubby and I were scheduled to do in March has had to be restructured because he has pulled out. So I need another accompanist, and repertoire. It was supposed to be a soprano/guitar duet. Now it�ll be a diva/accompanist affair. At the moment I don�t know who to ask, but the piano teacher at U.de S. is a possibility.

Hurricane Frances has been wreaking havoc with the weather. Even at our northerly latitude we have had driving rain and fear of flooding. I suppose we�ve gotten off easy when compared with what�s happened south, especially on the island of Granada. Just awful, the devastation they�ve suffered. I walked to and from the U. in the rain yesterday, attended my first Latin class, bought my parking permit and my Latin texts, registered for said class, and was soaking wet when I got home.

Latin is going to be a breeze at the beginning, but then I was warned that it would be. German was also a breeze until they threw the cases at us after Christmas. After studying ancient Greek, I think I�m ready for just about anything linguistically, except maybe Basque and Inuit. But even those would be a welcome challenge, once I master Latin. Valete!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>