Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

My Friend Pig by Elgan

Tuesday, Jun. 1, 2004
10:24 p.m.
My pig is not a pet you see;
He is a loyal friend to me.
He lets me ride him on the trail
And play with his cute curly tail.

We like to picnic in the woods
And feast on all his favourite foods:
Truffles, acorns, figs and breads,
Coca cola, fiddle heads.

When I get tired I take a nap
And lay my head upon his lap.
He gently strokes my auburn braid
And tells me not to be afraid.

Some days we go down to the fair
To see the other livestock there.
But I prefer the ferris wheel:
It makes my portly pig pal squeal!

We buy cotton candy and ice cream,
Watch the fluffy clouds and dream
About when we have grown quite big,
Me and my friend, the soft pink pig.

Someday we�re going to go away
And travel the world for many a day,
Hire a balloon and fly through the sky,
Just my best friend pig and I.

We�ll go to India and France
And at the museum I�ll cast a glance
At the Mona Lisa, who�s looking at me
No matter where in the room I might be.

In India we�ll visit the Taj Mahal,
Ride an elephant and feel very tall,
But not as tall as in our balloon
Which takes us halfway to the moon.

Although we�d like to visit there,
I�ve heard the moon is devoid of air;
So we�ll stay on earth where it�s nice and warm
And eventually come home to Daddy�s farm.

But piggy and I are still very small
And Daddy wouldn�t let us leave at all.
Instead we�ll just picnic along the trail,
I�ll pull his ears and play with his tail.

Someday I�ll have a farm of my own
And piggy will be fully grown.
He�ll have the place around the bend
And I�ll still be his very best friend.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>