Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

How different birds leave their nests.

Sunday, Aug. 1, 2004
10:52 a.m.
I just saw the date stamp on the computer, and realized that it is already August 1. Where did the time go? It feels like summer has just started, and yet in a month�s time we all go back to school.

I was a little under the influence when I wrote last night�s entry, and I missed out on some important stuff. Firstly, when I was playing on the computer I got a call from my mother-in-law informing us that Hubby�s brother�s mother-in-law (the Cambridge people) had passed away yesterday morning. She had diabetes and emphysema, was hooked up to oxygen 24/7, and was constantly in and out of the hospital. Each visit looked like it would be her last, and yet somehow she always managed to pull through and go home. However, this most recent episode proved to be her last. She was in her early 70s. We will send a donation to the Canadian Diabetes Association in her name.

Little Princess and her string quartet played at a wedding yesterday in Dunham, a town about an hour-and-a-half�s drive west of here. She had arranged to leave work two hours early in order to meet the rest of the group at the university, where she had stowed her instrument and fancy clothes, and from whence they would continue on their merry way. Just before noon I got a telephone call from the violist, who was doing the driving, because she was concerned that Little Princess would not be at the rendezvous spot early enough for them to get to Dunham on time. I told her that I thought all the arrangements had been made ahead of time, but gave her the telephone number for Little Princess� place of employment so that she could contact her.

Later in the day the violist�s mother called me, a woman I have known for many years, because she was concerned that it takes one-and-three-quarter hours to drive to Dunham. I told her what I had told her daughter, and then I asked her what she expected me to do about it. She answered that she likes to be on top of her daughter�s activities, and I blithely informed her that I often have no idea what mine is about at all. After all, they are 18, they are adults in the eyes of the law, and they have to make their own arrangements. I am no longer responsible. Anyway, the conversation ended, nothing more happened, and apparently they made it to the wedding with time to spare.

Their gig finished at 8:30, but she didn�t get home until 11:30 because it was dark and rainy and they got hopelessly lost. Fortunately the girls outnumbered the boys three to one, they asked for directions, and eventually found their way home, much to my and Hubby�s relief.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>