Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I have good news, and I have bad news.

Thursday, May. 25, 2006
5:43 p.m.
The good news is that Apple will foot the bill because the problem is so prevalent in computers from this particular "batch". There is an incompatibility between the power module and the other components so that upon startup, there is too much juice. Unbeknownst to me, condensers were popping like OrweII Reddenbacher, and the techie actually took off the back right then and there in the shop and showed me the orange fuzz spilling out of them. The bad news is that it will take a week for the parts to arrive (there are disadvantages to not living in a large urban centre, although I think the advantages outweigh them), so I am without my lean, mean, plastic machine until further notice. Luckily we are not without an internet-connected computer, so I can still keep in touch. But it means that I can't get any work done (just look at me sobbing away here).

Thank you all who left comments about my entry earlier today and the tribute to my dad that I linked to it. I have finally put the link in for the joke about the prize pig, the one you're probably all wondering about, since I posted it after I had written the former and it never occurred to me then to make the necessary connections. But I have now done so, and I will also include it here as well.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>