Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Simply Royal

Sunday, May 14, 2006
10:31 p.m.
My tummy is full of Indian food, my brain is full of The R0yal Tenenbaums and I�m a pretty happy mom. Kevin O and his girlfriend dropped by quite unexpectedly early this afternoon, so we got the umbrella out of the garage and set it up on the deck on the picnic table and served them beer and red wine. It was a business call so Kevin could give Hubby information about the drum kit that has gone missing from the percussion studio (so that he can file a police report), but turned into a social occasion. They were on their way to take a couple of dogs back to Kevin�s ex�s (he and his girlfriend are looking for a place in town where they can keep them) before going to dinner at East Side Mari0. I think I prefer ShaIimar.

On the way back from the restaurant we stopped at the video store so I could pick out a movie I wanted to watch (being my day and all), and I finally chose this one plus Bewitched just because I loved the TV show when I was a kid. We�ll watch that one tomorrow evening. I�ve been wanting to see The R0yal Tenenbaums ever since it came out in the cinema, even though various people I know gave it a terrible review (what do they know anyway?) and found it to be very funny and poignant, much in the same way that Life Aquatic was. In fact, they both had BiII Murray, AngeIica Hust0n and Owen WiIs0n in them, all great actors, along with the rest of the star-studded cast. Quite a good film. If you haven�t seen it, I recommend it.

Hubby is about a quarter-inch into The DaVinci C0de. Someone is finally reading it after I got it for $1 for rejoining the B00k of the M0nth Club a couple of years ago. His plan is to read it before the movie comes out. In true scholarly fashion, he has been consulting the encyclopaedia and the internet on all the interesting bits of information that Dan Br0wn has placed in the book, yet says that it is a pretty fast read. I guess I really can�t put it off any longer, and will have to read it once he�s done, if I can get to it before my daughter does.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>