Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

My day, and welcome to it.

Thursday, Sept. 16, 2004
7:52 p.m.
I am exhausted. And it�s not even 8 p.m. yet. This does not bode well for the rest of the year. Here is what my day went like:

My clock radio, which was set to wake me up at 7:15 a.m., did not in fact wake me at that time. At 7:17 I looked at the clock, wondering if I had time to sleep longer, having been woken by my son taking a shower and monopolizing the bathroom. Luckily we have a second shower in our guest room suite, so Hubby was able to perform his morning ablutions. I emptied the dishwasher, made Buddy Boy�s lunch (yes he is old enough to make his own, but I fear that it would be junk city without my input), put on a load of wash, hung it out, attempted the NY Times cr0ssword leaving most of it blank and then having my own bath. At 9:40 I fled the house and made it to my Latin class exactly at 10:00, whereat we learned about the various cases, which I already knew about from Greek, and the two declensions, which is much easier than Greek�s 16 or so. After a hurried sandwich at 11:30, I checked my email, played a couple of games of freecell and then practised until I could stand it no longer. I called Vlad, set up a rehearsal time for Saturday, then taught a lesson, had a muffin and a cup of tea, and was ready for choir at 4:00 p.m. That was over by 5:30, I walked home (with a blister on my right heel from my sandals), prepared a gourmet meal, which I ate with a lichee cocktail prepared by my loving man, and now I sit at the keyboard almost unable to make coherent sentences.

The student/teacher assignments were posted and I have six new students, two returning students, and one graduate who wants to continue lessons privately. I am taking Latin, singing in the choir, and continuing with the writing group on Wednesday nights and belly dancing which will take place on Thursdays from 6 to 7:30. I have three performances with the new music ensemble already confirmed, I just learned that the faculty recital has been postponed, and I am seriously thinking of cancelling the concert I am slotted to do in March for lack of time and an accompanist. After a summer of slothfulness, I am definitely not ready to be back in the swing of things.

It was great, though, to be back at writing group last night. I was a little rusty, but otherwise encouraged to find that I can still write. Now I have to find the motivation to try writing outside of our weekly session, and not just diary entries.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>