Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The wind and the rain raineth everyday�

Monday, July 5, 2004
11:19 a.m.
I find it hard to believe how incredibly lazy and affected by inertia I am. I have been sitting at this computer for hours, still in my pyjamas and bathrobe, first fiddling with a new template, then reading diaries of people who have �classical� listed in their music lists, and finally playing games. There was a brief interruption when it started to rain rather heavily which necessitated a quick tour of the house to close windows. Now, however, the sun is shining and it is going to be another scorcher. Or so it would appear. I have yet to open the windows again since I haven�t been able to get my arse out of this ergonomic chair.

I often forget that American spellings are different from the rest of the English-speaking world. As I often do these days, I was visiting in the D�land chatroom last night, and someone said something about �donuts�, to which I added �hmmmm, doughnuts� and was immediately asked if I was British. �No, Canadian,� I replied, �did my funny spellings give me away?�

I found that I�m not the only not-teenager who hangs out there on occasion. I chatted with a 32-year-old physical and massage therapist who makes (wait for it) $400-$600 an hour for her services. That is amazing. She�s on call 24/7 at the hospital where she works and has absolutely no social life. No wonder she was in a chatroom full of teenagers. There was also a 26-year-old woman who is separated and doing the dating thing again and finding it rather daunting. She was giving advice to a 13-year-old. I think she would have liked advice from me, but since I�ve never been in her situation, I couldn�t really add anything. Sigh. I guess a long-standing, happy marriage is rather an oddity these days. Pity.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>