Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Bye bye birdie.

Friday, June 2, 2006
11:26 p.m.
First and foremost, my back is feeling much better, although it is by no means completely cured. I still had to fortify myself with extra-strength acetaminophen a couple of times today, which meant that I only moaned and groaned a few times, mostly when getting in and out of the car.

Second, our iMac is home, purring happily away with its new electrical parts. The repairs cost us nothing, and I got a little holiday from copying music, although I see that I have to get back to work forthwith.

Third, Hubby broke a tennis racket today, so we headed up to the mall to get him a new one and so that he could accompany me to Costco to help with the heavy lifting (the hour of shopping allowed him to pick up his racket fully strung so he can play tomorrow, weather willing) and get the computer in the same trip.

After we got home I had a luxurious bath, made supper (no kids again) for the two of us, and got to the hall by 7:30. It turned we were supposed to be there for a 6:30 pre-concert rehearsal, but because I had left immediately following last night�s dress rehearsal, I didn�t know that. I think Vlad was a little put out with me. But I don�t really care, since our replacement baritone didn�t show up until 7:45. Hah!

The concert stank, in my opinion (in spite of the audience�s standing ovation). Hubby said the G&S was all over the place (and it was). Nothing was really polished, but then, how can they be when the group consists of untrained voices in not enough numbers to camouflage them? Hubby commented that he didn�t understand why Vlad was so concerned with me sticking out vocally when all you could hear of the tenors was J-S. She actually shushed me at one point, in the middle of a concert yet!

There was a party at her place afterwards, but I told her that the drugs had just worn off and I was going home. She still invited me to have a few drinks, saying it would make me feel better, but the last thing I want to do is hang around and be fake. Besides, I wasn�t lying. I was doing all right until we took a group bow, then I noticed that my sacrum was still sore.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>