Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Spring has sprung, the grass is shorn.

Thursday, June 2, 2005
10:34 a.m.
I promised myself that as a reward for copying one page of score I would update my diary. What a pathetic life I lead.

Firstly, there is something I feel I must get off my chest. It has been weighing me down for days now, just adding to all the stress that I suddenly find myself under, and I won�t feel right until I make amends. It was brought to my attention by one of my more attentive readers whose opinion and friendship I value greatly that on occasion, when I am trying to be particularly clever, perhaps in an Oscar Wilde or Noel Coward kind of way, that my brand of acid wit actually burns. If any of you have ever felt that you have been a victim of my pen (which perhaps really is mightier than the sword), I apologize and wish to make it up to you. I will expunge the guilty entry, erase the offensive text, and promise never to do it again. Being human, however, and flawed, it�s a promise I may not keep, but I will at least try to be more aware of how my words affect others.

The weather is finally glorious, as it should be at this time of year. The flowering crab in my yard is now in full bloom (somehow I missed the cherry tree, it wasn�t very interesting this spring) and Hubby, who finished the piece for the TSO and got it off by courier on Tuesday (he�s received an email to the effect that it has been received and a large breath of relief has been taken by all) finally got around to changing the oil in the lawn mower and cutting the grass. It was, according to him, up to his knees in some places, and we have a very large lawn. Our house now looks like civilized people live here, you can tell that the overgrown vegetation no longer hides rusting out carcasses of ancient automobiles, but on the other hand we are no longer providing a refuge for small woodland creatures either.

After supper last night (which consisted of a stir fry with fiddleheads and black beans for which I am paying as we speak), Hubby and I walked to the Lion to meet his Mexican guitar student (recently graduated) who is heading off to Texas and then home for the summer today. We joined him and some friends of his (a Roumanian guitarist, his wife and their friend) and J-Y, our harpsichord teacher who is actually a psychiatrist by trade, and I downed a much-needed beer which did wonders for easing the knots that I have been tying myself into of late. J-Y and I had a lively conversation, discussing the possibility that many of people�s psychological problems stem from their bombardment by the media of what a relationship should be, and how they are emotionally unequipped for creating and nurturing relationships which are not modelled on these television and cinematic �ideals�. I don�t really know if I agree with him, but it was an interesting discussion nonetheless, and he does have a unique perspective from the vantage point of of his profession.

Janice and her man were also at the bar, having helped her daughter move apartments that day (the daughter is a bartender at the Lion), so he and Hubby struck up a conversation about guitars and have planned to get together at some future time to do some jamming. I also met another Mexican student, a violinist, who had started studying voice as a second instrument with me a couple of years ago and had to drop it because her home university (she was on exchange) would not pay the extra. She wants to pick up voice lessons again, so we planned that she should start in September when she gets back to finish off her degree. She�s such a sweet girl. During our brief time together she gave me a tiny serape she had woven on a hand loom, approximately 9" by 4", and she told me that in Mexico she has a large loom and weaves the standard-sized item. It was very pretty.

Our walk back was lovely, the air scented by crabapple blossoms and the night noisy with the sounds of spring peepers. This morning I have insect bites all over my neck and it�s so hard not to scratch. The day is laid out in front of me: copy, mail VHS tape No. 4, do laundry, make bread, shop, go to the bank. Hubby and I are driving to Ontario tomorrow for an extended weekend and we�re leaving our offspring behind to fend for themselves. My sister-in-law and her husband are celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary on Saturday, so we�ll be staying at my brother-in-law�s in Cambridge and visiting with Hubby�s parents and the rest of his family. On Monday we drive to Toronto for a couple of days to visit with my mom and my brother who is here from Israel for a showing of his paintings at one of the city�s reform synagogues.

As a result of all this gallivanting around, I will be away from Diaryland for quite a while, and I will also be unable to tape next Tuesday�s broadcast of Dr. Who unless I can prevail upon one of my kids to do it. I�ll do my best, bindyree.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>