Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Called to the bar.

Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
11:39 p.m.
I have now experienced in the flesh something I had only before witnessed on beer commercials: I have watched a hockey game, not just any hockey game, but the final showdown for the Stanley Cup, in a bar. Let me explain.

We have been having incredibly hot and humid weather lately and, as often happens when such meteorological conditions prevail, Zeus lanced his mighty thunderbolts at the earth and Uranus rained down upon the parched soil. In other words, we had a thunderstorm. We also had lots of wind which brought down branches and the red maple in our neighbour's yard across the street, it ripped off one of the hatches on my new composter which I found later among the trees, and the power went out. It went out at around 4 p.m. and came back on at 9:30 p.m., approximately. When I called Hydro Quebec I was informed that the outage was due to equipment failure and service would not be restored until 3:30 a.m. Thank goodness they make very exaggerated estimates.

Hubby had taken the Volvo to the university, so I had to remove the Subaru from the garage, which mean pulling up the garage door manually, sticking a ladder underneath it so it wouldn't fall down again and I could actually drive out underneath it, then remove the ladder and let it close again. I had to reverse the process on the way in too. This was our last bellydancing session, and it was so hot. We did some work with veils, and the fabric touching me was unbearable.

However, once home again, Hubby was incredibly upset. The hockey game was on tonight, starting at 8:00 EDT, and we had no power. We picked up the kids from karate and drove into town where the Lion, also bereft of power (although the Subway across the street was not so stricken) was rigging up a generator so that they would be able to project the game onto the screen they have set up in the main bar. I bought some Subway sandwiches for hubby and myself as we hadn't had supper yet and we ate them during the pre-game preamble.

The bar quickly filled up and the interesting activity of men watching a sporting event unfolded. They yelled, they hooted, they hollered, they groaned and they cheered. Our team of choice, Edmonton, lost. But there were a few interesting moments, such as the first time the generator ran out of gasoline, and then the time someone stepped on a power cord. Just two minutes before the end of the game, the large screen stopped working, so everyone crowded around the little TV suspended in the corner. The electricity came on during the second period, but people were more interested in the game than in being able to see each other, so the lights were dimmed again.

Personally, I found watching the watchers to be just as, if not more so, interesting than the game. So, although I really did try to pay attention to the action on screen, I enjoyed the entertainment of the situation more.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>