Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Another beautiful day in the offing.

Sunday, July 4, 2004
8:39 a.m.
Happy Independence Day, my friends to the south. I hope you have good weather for the picnics and especially the fireworks.

Speaking of good weather, yesterday was an absolutely perfect day. Hubby and I took the opportunity to walk into town along the bike path where the shade was very welcome. We had to keep switching from abreast to single file to make way for the cyclists coming through, and there were lots of them, but it was still much nicer than walking on the road. Hubby bought me a raspberry spritzer at the health-food store, which I drank seated on the bench in front of the library.

I live in a very small town (or borough, something I�m still a little bitter about) but we are on a main traffic artery and there is a lot of truck traffic going through here. One of the drawbacks of sitting outside at The Lion on the terrace (the only drawback, really) is the constant noise from the huge semis as they go around the corner following Hwy 143 towards Vermont. It�s especially bad starting in November when these enormous flatbeds are filled to overflowing with Christmas trees. But that doesn�t seem to deter anyone from enjoying their Lion�s Pride en plein air.

We walked home through Little Forks and back along the bike path, taking a whole hour and-a-half for our jaunt. It was hot and sunny, but I used lots of sunscreen, so saved myself a burn. I wore a hat but still got a headache, which lasted all night, and craning my neck at the movie did not help. The film had French subtitles which, for Buddy Boy and me sitting in the front row, were at eye level. They did come in very useful during the footage from Iraq where the woman is screaming in Arabic about her house being bombed. But for the most part I find it rather disconcerting to be hearing English and reading the French translation, picking out all the discrepancies. Not only that, but the subtitles were not in Quebec French. That may have given some of the audience members moment for thought. I must see this movie again but sitting farther back, or perhaps we�ll rent it when it comes out at Bl�ckbuster.

When we got home, Little Princess had a bunch of girlfriends over and they were watching Chocolat downstairs. I went to bed early after posting last night�s entry, so I don�t know when they left. Perhaps she�ll start spending more time with her female friends and stop hanging out with these guys my husband feels are such a bad influence on her. We shall see.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>