Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The prodigal son returns.

Saturday, Jul. 29, 2006
8:03 p.m.
This is from radiogurl who got it from someone else, because I'm feeling a little at loose ends:

How long have you been on Diaryland?
- since September 8, 2003

How many entries do you have?
- 1220, not counting this one

How many people read you, or, say they read you
- 87 diaries list me as a favourite, but my stats usually show about 35 hits daily

Who told you about Diaryland?
- tcklyrpharsn

Are you popular?
- I don't know. What constitutes popular?

Do you think its important to update daily?
- It's important for me.

Have another blog someplace else?
- As a matter of fact, if have several other blogs, but Diaryland is my first love.

Who reads you mostly? men or women?
- It appears that mostly women read me, but not exclusively. I have my fair share of male admirers.

Ever get any negative comments?
- I have got negative comments in the past. Any discussion of vegetarianism seems to bring out the worst in people.

Do you pay for the service or are you a freeloader?
- I am a supergold member, although I hardly use any of the perks membership buys. I just figured that I should put something back, like that story by Terry J0nes about the magic cupboard.

***************************

We picked Buddy Boy up from the bus depot this afternoon. He fell asleep in the terminal in M0ntreal and missed the 9:30 by a couple of minutes, so he had to wait two hours for the next ride out. He's full of stories, mostly complaining about GaIaFiIms, which treated its paid actors far better than the volunteers who stood out in the hot sun in woolen uniforms and metal helmets waiting for instructions. They weren't fed as well either, and I don't know if the intent was to give them as close to actual a WWI experience as they could, of if they just overlooked the fact that soldiers get hungry. One famous Canadian, the son of a very famous Canadian, is starring in the film, and Buddy Boy said he was not a nice person, treating everyone like so much sludge on the bottom of his boots. There is a possibility this person might run for political office, and I have been forewarned not to vote for him now.

My son is a little sunburned, a little blistered in the feet (they wore parade boots in the field), but he had a wonderful experience. He made friends with all sorts of people from all over the country in all walks of life and hopefully those relationships will endure. While he didn't get any speaking parts (those were reserved for the paid help), he says there are several close-ups of him which hopefully won't end up on the cutting-room floor, and this should be a good addition to his resume.

I'm just glad to have my boy home again.

[Click back one to see our new "pet".]

|

<~~~ * ~~~>