Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I’ve had it with dead languages.

Wednesday, Jan. 10, 2007
10:47 p.m.
I just made a cataclysmic decision. After five semesters of Latin, a language I really have no use for other than as a diversionary interest, and upon reading the email from our new teacher in which she confirmed when classes were to be and that she would be holding weekly quizzes, I realized that I just couldn’t face another Latin class. I’me sure that CF will be a fine Latin teacher, but I’ve become so used to Patsy that I don’t want to switch. I think, as I approach my second half-century, that I don’t really need the added stress of memorizing vocabulary and grammar. I never started this in order to make marks or amass credits--that just sort of happened along the way--so I think no one can fault me for deciding that I’ve done my share. Maybe, if I have a rest from it, I’ll return to it and finish off the course. But for now, I’ve had enough.

Having said all that, Little Princess, Buddy Boy and I have recently returned from an evening of theatre. A group of drama students put together their own production of Office H0urs by N0rman F0ster, an absolutely hilarious play set in a series of offices in a city at about the same time of day, with a common thread and a very surprising ending. We had fun. And now, since I don’t have to get up early for Latin tomorrow morning, I’m going to play on the internet for a while.

[Second entry today]

|

<~~~ * ~~~>