Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A great concert.

Friday, Oct. 22, 2004
11:56 p.m.
I just got back from a concert at the department tonight, two pianos and two percussionists. It was fantastic. The first thing on the programme was La Va1se by Rave1 in the arrangement for two pianos. Firstly I just love that piece, and secondly the two played with such fire and passion. It was great. That was followed by a world premiere of Hubby�s piece for two marimbas, and that went really, really well. He was very pleased. This was followed by a composition by a young Quebec composer for all four players, and it was pretty good. He was also in the audience and got to take his bow although it wasn�t a world premiere. After a brief intermission they played Bart0k�s sonata for two pianos and percussion, and that was magnificent. Such a good concert! Plus, we had a really great turnout. During the first part of the show I was sitting next to Buddy Boy on my right and a stranger on my left. After the intermission I had Hubby on my right and Little Princess on my left, and in the first movement of the Bart0k she reached over and took my hand and held it for the rest of the concert. I felt all warm and fuzzy inside!

Hubby helped the musicians pack up their gear, of which there was tons. They had borrowed timpani from the orchestra, which had to be put in their individual boxes, all very heavy. The marimbas and xylophone and other pitched percussion had to be broken down into their component parts, wrapped up in blankets and flannelette sheets. Such a lot of work! The radio had also recorded the concert, so the technician was busily packing up his gear too, and that meant we didn�t get out of there until just a little while ago. Hubby dropped Buddy Boy and me at home, and then he, Little Princess and her friend went to The Lion where they are joining the musicians for a drink. I�m just too tired.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>