Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Morning fritters, yum!

Friday, Sept. 17, 2004
11:35 a.m.
It is done. I have officially cancelled my concert which was to take place March 11 and I am much relieved. Phew! You will be pleased to know that I eventually did finish yesterday�s crossword puzzle, albeit just before bedtime, but I am having a terrible time with this morning�s. It is Friday, though, and anyone who regularly does the NY Times puzzle knows that Friday is the day when the men are separated from the boys (whatever that has to do with this).

After extensive research, I was unable to find a satisfying etymology for the word �persnickety�. It is apparently an alteration of the word �pernickety� meaning fastidious, fussy, snobbish, and requiring great precision. So, I regret to inform jonquill that is neither from the Latin nor the Greek, but most likely onomatopoetic in origin, a word which is from the Greek: onomatopoiia, from onoma name + poiein to make.

I have totally frittered the morning away in front of the magic box, having done no constructive work at all. Well, that�s not exactly true, but true enough. I�m going to try to plan my teaching so that my life is one crazy whirlwind Tuesday through Thursday, and have four-day weekends. This will hopefully give me time to do my music copying, my shopping and meal preparation, laundry and all the other domestic responsibilities during the non-academic part of the week. This is absolutely crazy, I tell you, crazy!

Vlad and I had a long talk this morning as well, all about healing and letting go. Letting go is good. There are a number of stresses in my life for which I have had to learn this important technique. Maybe I shall talk more on that later. Maybe not.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>