Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Passing the bales

Tuesday, Aug. 17, 2004
10:26 a.m.
Somehow Little Princess managed to bring home the same friends last night as the night before, which meant another gourmet meal, this time my most excellent marinated tofu fried in the wok (luckily I bought tofu yesterday on my walk into town with my most excellent son) served on Thai-seasoned rice (out of a package, I do that sometimes, don�t look at me that way) with stirfried cauliflower and broccoli and garlic. Yum. After supper a jam session was had and I promptly ran away upstairs so I could play on the computer with impunity.

This morning I was up too early with a full bladder and then couldn�t fall back asleep because the crows and jays were having a contest to see who could make more noise. I think they perch in the juniper directly outside my bedroom window and caw in through the screen just to annoy me. At least, that�s what it sounds like. I had to drive Little Princess and her friend K-- to Em�s house for the first day of their wind-surfing course. Can you believe they�re getting a full-course credit for four days� fun? We found ourselves behind a truck carrying hay bales moving at (I kid you not) 20 km/h, and it took quite a while before we could pass it.

After I dropped the girls off and they headed out in Em�s car to Magog, Di gave me a tour of their new house. It is absolutely gorgeous. The main floor is all open, with a huge kitchen, sunroom, living room with cathedral ceiling, arched windows, beautiful hardwood floors accented with ceramic tile and all the modern conveniences in stainless steel appliances. The house overlooks a vast acreage which they have planted in grapevines, a necessity since the land was zoned as �agricultural� and in order to get a permit to build their home they needed an agricultural project. They also have a �chalet� (really a glorified garage) on an adjoining lot in which they make maple syrup every winter. So they are not lacking estate-wise.

They have acquired a second dog, a golden retriever puppy who already is twice the size of their old poodle and has a bad habit of jumping on visitors. Bacchus is maybe only half grown, but he�s got a lot of bulk behind him. I�ll be pleased to remake his acquaintance when he�s grown out of this habit. In the meantime I�ll probably be driving back there this afternoon to pick Little Princess up after their course (K-- will be staying with Em for the week before moving into residence), so I�ll get jumped on again soon.


from ladybug-red:

What? You mean all food doesn't come in boxes? -S

|

<~~~ * ~~~>