Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Cats!

Thursday, July 8, 2004
9:04 a.m.
As I may have mentioned before somewhere, I am allergic to cats. They cause acute rhinitis, tearing of the eyes and itching of the throat. The reaction doesn�t usually set in until I have been in their presence for an hour or so, but it is enough reason for me not to want a cat in my house.

But, for some inexplicable reason, I seem to be a cat magnet all of a sudden. There have been at least three cats hanging around the house on a regular basis. I figured it was because of the bird feeder, because we�re certainly not giving any free handouts here. They come to the back deck, the front porch, and when I am outside try to �mark� me with their scent glands. I am not averse to scratching kitty-cats behind the ears, as long as I can wash my hands forthwith, but I do not want their saliva or musk rubbed all over my legs, thank you.

We have given a couple of them names: Mittens is a small gray tabby with white paws and a red neckerchief and Susie is a fluffy calico. There is also a larger grey tabby with a white splotch on her back who actually managed to enter the house when the front door was opened, panicked, and left as soon as we opened the door for her again. Susie also infiltrated the residence at one point, giving us a merry chase as we tried to put her out. Hubby thinks that she has actually met a bad end, noticing a calico cat carcass on the road not far from here. Sad. I remember that she set up shop on our porch and made herself quite comfortable in one of the deck chairs for several hours.

It is the unnamed tabby with the white splotch who has seemed to adopt me. Little Princess (who would love to get a kitten if I would allow it) and I were sitting on the porch when Spot (aha, she has a name!) came up and started rubbing her cheeks against my sandaled foot. As much as my daughter wanted to play with this creature, Spot was more interested in me. I was friendly, but not overly so. I had nothing to give her besides an ear scratch, but she wouldn�t leave me alone, instead leaving her drool all over my toes.

This morning Mittens was on the back deck, scratching at the screen door, mewing pitifully as though we were depriving her of something. After deliberately ignoring her, she got the message and went off, seeking other prey. These cats are apparently well fed and well looked after, with collars and homes, yet they persist in hanging around me. I just don�t get it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>