Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Old? Who�s old?

Thursday, Jan. 6, 2005
9:53 a.m.
Immediately after posting last night�s entry (a detailed description of my prowess at pushing a cold car bumper-to-bumper in a university parking lot; do click back if you�ve misssed it) I received notification that I had a message on my notes page. (Actually, I had two, and I thank eggsaucted for hers, which was kind and sympathetic.) It was from dope-slave and it said: Why do old people keep diaries? Okay boys and girls, dope-slave pushed a button, and I responded on his notes page: Define old people. He responded moments later with: Old people like you, of course.

At this point I had had enough, erased the offending notes from my page and went to bed. But I lay awake, thinking of all the possible responses I could make, none of them complimentary, all of them with expletives and foul epithets embedded therein. I also lay awake with ice-cold feet, not wanting to wake Hubby by pressing them against his warm, sleeping body, and eventually donned woolen socks until they were toasty enough for me to sleep.

Logging in this morning, going back to dope-slave�s notes page, I saw a note from someone else: �And, after further investigation, I realize you just like to post up random shit in notes/comments sections. I fell for it. Yay me.� I guess my mistake was responding to this asshole in the first place. But when I was in the bath, I thought up the response I should have left last night in answer to �Why do old people keep diaries?� which is: I don�t know. Why don�t you ask one?


from harri3tspy :

I used to have a Volvo that did that. Of course, it was 20 years old at the time, so it was allowed to be a little cranky. I�m glad everyone made it home. Sorry about the evil troll.

from ladybug-red :

You can take comfort in knowing that he probably won�t come back - he sounds like a total flake.

from ashahands :

Poor dope-slave must be unaware of the fact that intellectual curiousity and a need to stay connected to oneself through writing does carry on past high school (gasp!) and even past college (double gasp!). What does this guy think, once out of the teens we shrivel up and have no desire to discover ourselves in new ways? Embrace your diary, I love it. Plus I wouldn�t trust anyone with the name dope-slave. Cheers.

from ilmomof3 :

There's a word for people like dope-slave (aside from addict, of course) -- troll. Ugly little guys with nothing nice to say. I�ve had them too and I�ve also laid in bed wondering how to respond and what makes people like that tick. I haven�t figured it out yet, but just wanted to let you know I empathized.

from zuzus-petals :

I think us old people keep diaries because we have so much interesting stuff to say! What is �old� anyways? Does someone around here have a shield against mortality?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>