Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A mother laments Father Time�s beard.

Tuesday, July 13, 2004
9:21 p.m.
Why is it that after a meal so large that I could not sleep but lay awake on my back feeling my distended belly I weigh myself in the morning and I am one pound lighter than the day before? What is the logic in this? Someone tell me!

Again determined to be productive, I did two loads of laundry, picked more red currants and made more jam before Hubby and I headed off to visit our friends at their cottage on Lake Massawippi, a jar of still-warm red currant jam proffered as a hostess gift. We had a lovely time. Joyce and I went kayaking on the lake (the first time I have attempted such a thing, although I did much canoeing in my youth) and carried on lively and revealing conversations while our respective husbands played electric guitars together like a couple of teenagers. The weather was perfect and it was a good time.

I noticed this morning that my 15-year-old son has quite the bristle on his chinny-chin-chin. It seems like just yesterday I was teasing him for his fairy moustache, and now I believe he could grow a full beard with little problem. This is my baby!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>