Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A long day and a brief synopsis.

Monday, July 26, 2004
11:52 p.m.
It has been one of those days. I got up too early, actually setting my alarm clock so that I would not miss my 9 a.m. appointment to take the Outback to the dealership for its recall. The parking pin had to be replaced. Back home I brought in the load of darks and colours I had hung out the day before but failed to bring in before the dew got them all damp again, and did a second load of darks and colours. I made white current jam. Lots of it. I chatted in the diaryland chatroom. I read diaries and I wrote an entry aimed at the person who left me a note in my guestbook. That�s one back if you haven�t seen it yet. After lunch Hubby and I picked up the car again, and then went to Yellow where he purchased cross-trainer shoes that are suitable for the tennis court and one third the price of what he normally pays for fancy brand-name shoes at sporting-goods stores which wear out just as quickly. Back home again I brought in laundry, took a freshly-baked loaf out of the breadmaker, wasted more time at the computer, made supper, picked Little Princess up from work, and am now definitely ready for bed, having just watched The Butterfly Effect.

That was an excellent movie. I never thought I would see Ashton Kutcher in a serious role. I�m so used to him playing the equivalent of a male ditz. In this film, he attempts to change the past in order to change the present, and finds that things are never simple. His ultimate solution to ensuring that the girl he loves doesn�t die a horrible death or end up a coke-addicted prostitute, that her brother doesn�t become a hardened criminal and that his best childhood friend doesn�t end up in a mental institutution is to send her out of his life completely. Hence the ending was not really a happy-ever-after kind of thing, but left you satisfied that things were as they should have been. Life is like that, I guess.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>