Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The palaver is finished

Thursday, May. 27, 2004
7:41 p.m.
Tomorrow morning we leave for parts west, hopefully reaching my mother�s in time for supper and avoiding both Montreal morning and Toronto evening rush hours. So I will be away from the magic box for 72 hours. Hey, I�ve done this before, right? I�m a big girl, I can manage. My plan is to call Jenny when we get to Guelph (late morning on Saturday I figure) because Hubby is bringing his axe and amp for a jam session with his brother which I have no intention of attending. So, maybe on Saturday afternoon there will be time to meet up with my friends from the Galt-Hespeler-Preston amalgamation. You see, my brother-in-law lives in the east end of Cambridge, which makes for a perfect escape scenario.

The weather has been perfect today. The kids cut the grass, taking turns, and it looks pretty good. Hubby put seed on the bare spots and hopefully there will be rain this weekend and we�ll come home to a nice green lawn. I have to go to the nursery and get my tomato and parsley plants, and I guess I�ll get some flowers too.

I have a love/hate relationship with gardening. I love playing in the dirt, but I hate getting dirty. I love having flowers in my yard, but I hate the work to put them there and maintain them. I usually binge garden, which means I spend several days intensively working in the yard, digging the compost into the vegetable patch and planting tomatoes, parsley and bushels of basil seed, and weeding and putting bedding plants in the front borders, and then neglecting everything for the rest of the summer. Well, that�s not quite true. I do weed my vegetable garden and nip the suckers off the tomato plants. But that�s it. Then come August I do a massive basil harvest, make tons of pesto (hence the parsley), and do it all again with the rest in September. We love pesto here.

I also have current bushes growing behind the garage: red, white and black. They make great jam. I had a herb garden growing alongside the deck, but it got totally overgrown with grass and when I was bringing in the laundry today the air was filled with the aroma of freshly-mown chives. This just strengthens my resolve to dig up the herbs (if any survived) and bring them to fulfillment in planters.

Okay, I�m just filling space here. Hubby and I are watching 21 grams tonight since we had it from Blockbuster for the week and have to return it on Sunday morning, but won�t be able to since we�re leaving tomorrow. So goodbye already!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>