Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m terrified, not terrorized

Wednesday, Sept. 1, 2004
8:46 a.m.
Geez it was cold last night! Either we close the windows or get out the down comforter. I virtually froze!

You will be pleased to know that I won�t be talking about basil plucking or pesto making for a bit, since I managed to freeze another five pints yesterday (that�s half-litres for you guys). My left thumbnail is totally ruined.

On a more disturbing note, this headline greeted our eyes this morning when we brought in the paper. I couldn�t find the article in the M�ntreal Gazette online, so I had to get it out of the T�r�nt� Star, but it�s the same story. What makes this incident particularly disturbing for me, besides the obvious loss of life and suffering inflicted by people who have no conscience about turning their own youth into bombs, is that my brother lives not that far from Beersheva, and he always assured me that that part of the country was not strategic enough to bomb. He was obviously wrong. Until I hear from him, I shall be worried sick that he or a member of his family was on one of those two buses. Ass holes.

Hubby is of the opinion that Israel should just do what the U.S. would do in a case of blatant terrorism like this: close the borders, take over the territories, declare marshal law and act like a country at war, which this in effect is. My first comment was that world opinion would really be on their side, NOT, and he said that the U.S. would do it and no one would say anything, but Israel has to cowtow to others� opinions when they are suffering human tragedies on a scale greater than anywhere else and more often. Do the math people. War on terror indeed.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>