Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

When is a freezer door not a door? When it is ajar.

Wednesday, Jun. 30, 2004
11:31 a.m.
Aha! The elusive white box has deigned to appear for me. The ironic thing is that I hit the button by accident earlier and the white box popped up first time, but then when I wanted to post an entry, it refused to oblige. Such are the vagaries of life.

Dave and Sylvie are in town and I actually invited them over for dinner tomorrow since it�s a holiday (Canada�s 137th birthday) and I don�t know if anything will be open. They will leave their adorable but active children (the older of the two unfortunately has been diagnosed as having a mild form of autism, and is a handful) with their doting grandparents so that we can have a more-or-less adult evening. I put that qualifier there because I have known Dave for many, many years, and I�m not sure if he has completely grown up yet. Anyway, this means I have to do a quick menu plan and shop to get supplies, plus clean up that part of the house that they will actually see. There it is, inviting company over so the house gets cleaned!

My baby basils have sprouted! There has also been a critter (perhaps the racoon, perhaps not) digging in my garden, although not badly. The tomato plants are doing well, with little yellow flowers adorning them, and the parsleys look like they survived the enforced containment in those tiny boxes I kept them in for over a week. This is good, because we had a rather ugly mishap the other day which I think may have compromised my frozen pesto supply.

Last year was a bumper pesto year, and I made tons of the stuff. Coming down to the basement yesterday I noticed water on the floor under the freezer, and then noticed that the door was ajar. Someone had just sort of thrown the mini-pizza box back inside without making sure that it wasn�t impeding the door from shutting, and as a result it wasn�t. So I called Buddy Boy down (he being the most reasonable culprit due to the fact that he�s the one eating the mini-pizzas) and he helped me clean up the mess, which involved removing all the thawed bags of last year�s currants and mopping up the resulting puddle from the floor of the appliance. The currents all got dumped into the composter, but I just shut the door on the thawed pesto, hoping that it refreezes all right. Actually, from past experience it doesn�t, but a girl can hope. This is what one gets for having an upright freezer instead of a chest.

In the meantime, the currants are turning colours (black and red and white) and perhaps this year I will make jam right away instead of plucking and freezing with (hopefully not) disastrous results. If this summer�s basil crop turns out to be bountiful, I may just dump all that pesto (sob!) if it doesn�t refreeze well. Such a waste. All those pine nuts, parmesan cheese and olive oil down the tubes. Alas.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>