Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

My second post today.

Tuesday, Apr. 22, 2008
8:53 p.m.
I love it that I can just go downstairs where my son and his friends are playing Rock Band (Buddy Boy on drums, which is pretty funny, because he doesn’t play drums), not say a word but mime turning a volume knob down and Buddy Boy looks at me and says, “Yeah,” and immediately picks up the remote and lowers the levels. I have such power, it amazes me.

Leaving the grocery store today, my buggy full of produce, I saw the ex-biker who runs the shop connected to the fine arts department, a guy I took a drawing course with years ago who is a single dad, totally gray now, and covered with tattoos, and said to him, “Hey man, how’s it hanging?” only to have him look at me as though I were from the moon. Some English idioms just don’t translate for the francophone mind.

I am convinced that the one single most important factor in losing and maintaining a healthy weight is not activity level, nor even quality of food, but portion size. The only reason I stay thin is because I make sure that I don’t exceed a certain number of calories per day (although I’m not sure what that is exactly), and hence limit my consumption of food in general. I don’t care how well you say you eat, if you are eating too much, you are going to be fat. Period. Exercise is great. In fact, I should exercise more than I do. Then I would look as good naked as I do clothed (maybe, but that’s probably pushing it). But exercise alone will not make you thin, especially if you are over the age of 30. Sorry, kids. You just got to stop stuffing your faces. Period.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>