Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Wherein I ponder what it would be like to be the alpha-male dog.

Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2004
8:47 a.m.
I desire to update my diary without really having anything to say. As expected, the damn dog jumped all over me again, and actually left a nasty scratch on my arm from it�s good-natured clawing. I was not amused. Em tells me it will be starting obedience school next week. Good luck, and thank goodness. The other dog, Pepper, an aging black miniature poodle, always used to bark at me inappropriately when they lived in their old house. I would come to the door and he would be all happy and excited to see me, but would start growling when it was time for me to be on my way. Go figure. I asked Di how he was dealing with this rambunctious Bacchus, and she said that he mostly just ignores him. Okay. Right. I have still to understand how dog brains work and I probably never will, but if I were the alpha male and a young upstart pup started jumping all over the guests which I considered to be my territory, I would be damned upset!

I just got back from driving Little Princess to Em�s, as a matter of fact, and I only caught a glimpse of the dog through the glassed-in front door. Em and K-- were sitting in the car, waiting for us so they could leave immediately. It was raining, but hopefully it�ll clear up for them when they get to Magog. Little Princess was so tired when I picked her up yesterday that she promptly fell asleep on the couch after supper, and when I woke her at around 11:00, she just went upstairs and fell into bed. So she�s feeling much more rested this morning. Apparently wind-surfing is dangerous work. She got hit in the head with the sail boom and knocked into the drink, and they capsized their board twice (once on purpose). She assures me this is the last phys-ed course she�ll ever be required to take.

My period started yesterday and my lady parts are not happy. My desire to attain menopause becomes more ardent every month. Enough with the anemia, enough with the mood swings; 36 years of bleeding (with time off for two pregnancies) is enough already!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>