Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Meme, me, me, me me, me

Thursday, Mar. 17, 2005
8:40 a.m.
Courtesy of harri3tspy, and on the heels of teranika, I am going to attempt this meme.

1. IF YOU COULD BUILD A SECOND HOUSE ANYWHERE, WHERE WOULD IT BE?
I don�t have a specific location, although once I would have said Lunenberg, Nova Scotia, but somewhere by the sea, hopefully in a warmer place than I live now. Tobago perhaps?

2. WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE ARTICLES OF CLOTHING?
I don�t think I have favourites, at least nothing that immediately comes to mind. In the winter I prefer jeans and turtleneck sweaters, in the summer shorts and tank tops. But I do have some gorgeous �party� dresses. I only wear them for parties though.

3. THE LAST CDs YOU BOUGHT?
As in the last meme I attempted, they were King Crimson recordings for my Hubby�s Brumalia present and the recording of our last choir concert.

4. WHAT TIME DO YOU WAKE UP IN THE MORNING?
7:15, whether I want to or not.

5. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE KITCHEN APPLIANCE?
If I ever loved a kitchen appliance, it would have to be my dishwasher. How did I ever live without one for all those years?

6. IF YOU COULD PLAY AN INSTRUMENT, WHAT WOULD IT BE?
I would have to agree with teranika on this one, I would like to play piano and guitar better. But if I had to learn a new instrument, theremin would be my first choice.

7. FAVORITE COLOR?
Porphyry, the colour of royalty.

8. WHICH VEHICLE DO YOU PREFER, SPORTS CAR, MOTORCYCLE, OR SUV?
I was just thinking last night that a Jaguar would be about my speed.

9. DO YOU BELIEVE IN THE AFTERLIFE?
Don�t get me started.

10. FAVORITE CHILDREN'S BOOK?
The Jolly Jumping Man (unfortunately, I can�t remember the author).

11. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE SEASON?
Spring as it segues into summer.

12. IF YOU HAVE A TATTOO, WHAT IS IT?
I do not and will not.

13. IF YOU COULD HAVE ONE SUPERPOWER, WHAT WOULD IT BE?
Is perfect pitch a superpower? I�d love to have that. Otherwise, I think being able to fly would be incredibly cool.

14. CAN YOU JUGGLE?
All moms are jugglers.

15. ONE PERSON/PEOPLE FROM YOUR PAST YOU WISH YOU COULD GO BACK AND TALK TO?
There are things I never got to say to my dad when he was alive, but considering the kind of guy he was, I still wouldn�t get to say them. I�ve had some junior high and highschool teachers whom I would like to see again, but I can�t think of one particular person from my own past whom I would like to talk to.

16. WHAT IS UNDER YOUR BED?
A dusty rug.

17. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE DAY?
My birthday.

18. WHICH DO YOU PREFER, SUSHI OR HAMBURGER?
Sushi. Definitely.

19. FROM THE PEOPLE WHO NORMALLY READ YOUR BLOG, WHO IS THE MOST LIKELY TO RESPOND FIRST?
That�s a hard one, because the ones most likely to respond are the ones I got it from! Maybe zitagsd.

20. ON WHICH BLOG DID YOU FIND THIS MEME?
harri3tspy, closely followed by teranika

21. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FLOWER?
Freesia.

23. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE MEAL?
Lunch, especially when I�m really hungry for it. Having reread this question and my answer to it, I think maybe a specific dish is what is called for. During my university days my favourite meal was �Lentils Monastery-style� from Diet for a Small Planet. Now I think it is my home-made pesto on linguine fine.

24. DESCRIBE YOUR PJS.
Flannelette tops and bottoms, some with flowers, others with bears.

25. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE BREAKFAST?
Remember Chelsea Morning by Joni Mitchell? Tea and toast and oranges.

26. DO YOU LIKE YOUR JOB?
I love my job, at least some of my jobs. Being a singing teacher is fantastic, being a music copyist has its drawbacks, like deadlines.

27. WHAT IS YOUR DREAM JOB?
A concert soprano who sculpts and paints in her off hours.

28. WHAT AGE DO YOU PLAN TO RETIRE?
Retire? What�s that?

29. WHERE DID YOU MEET YOUR SPOUSE OR SIGNIFICANT OTHER?
I met him twice, first in the cafeteria at our university when I was a new student there, and then again in the photocopy room of the main office of the music building when he was trying to make double-sided copies of the parts for his guitar concerto which he was performing on his grad recital. That was the time when he noticed me.

30. SOMETHING YOU WOULD LIKE TO DO THAT YOU HAVE NEVER DONE BEFORE.
Visit the Grand Canyon and other points of interest that have so far eluded me.

This was a courtesy post, so hopefully I�ll have more interesting news later in the day to relate. If not, so be it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>