Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Il pleure dans mon coeur comme il pleut sur la ville...

Tuesday, Sept. 9, 2008
11:54 a.m.
My mother’s condition is not good. I just got the following email from my brother (it was addressed to both me and my other brother):
Hi guys:

Just a quick update: I talked to the Health Director at F.H.P. and she said because Mummy seems to spend a lot of time confused, lost, losing stuff, etc., she would like to move her to the 2nd floor by the end of Sept. where there is more intensive care and the staff can keep a closer eye on her. I saw her prospective room - a bedroom suite only - and it seems fine, although a step down from what she has now. I’m sure Mummy will not be happy with the recommendation and change although I don’t really see another option as another director said they really aren’t set up to handle Mummy so often in her present, oftimes bewildered state.

The nurse and I, to the best of our abilities, will handle the delicate step of convincing Mummy - who at this point knows nothing about this development - as the other alternatives are not too pleasant (i.e. returning to her old house or starting this process again elsewhere). I don’t know how this will affect cleaning out and selling the house, so I’'ll keep you posted as to mommy’s progress at F.H.P.

L.


This is not the kind of news I want to hear, although a part of me new it was coming.

I also had a delightful chat last night with one of my far-flung internet friends about the nature of love, and how the human heart has an unlimited capacity to give and receive affection. Whereas I was stingy with my love when I was younger, as I get older I want to give more, to love more, because there is a bottomless well of it flowing outwards. It’s just too bad that possessiveness and jealousy get in the way and make it necessary to stem that torrent, lest we hurt those very people upon whom we are lavishing our love. I don’t really know if there is a solution.

It’s raining. I feel like spouting French poetry.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>