Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

... and miles to go before I sleep.

Friday, Oct. 9, 2009
10:44 p.m.
Tomorrow we drive to points west to celebrate Thanksgiving with our family. We’ll sleep on Little Princess’s couches tomorrow night, and then bring her, her BF and Buddy Boy to the in-laws’ for more food than your average third-world family sees in a month. Actually, Little Princess will be eating an extravagant waste of protein before we get there, something called a “terducken”. Hubby and I are planning to pick Buddy Boy up and take him out so we can avoid her apartment, which will be rife with the cooking smells of three deboned fowls, a chicken, duck and turkey, stuffed inside each other. It is hard for me to remember that there was a time I ate meat when I would have actually enjoyed something like that. Now just the thought of it makes me shudder.

The leaves are always pretty on the drive, but the forecast is for rain, so it will also be miserable. We plan to see my mother, which is a good thing, but she has been so out of it every time I’ve spoken to her on the phone lately that I fear what I’ll find.

Hubby and I watched a particularly bad movie tonight called Observe and Report which promised to be hilariously funny on the box. It wasn’t. The main character was not likable and the plot was rather lame. The movies that I wanted to see Hubby had already seen, and I knew that I wouldn’t like this, just from the picture on the label. Sometimes you can tell a book by its cover. It wasn’t a total fiasco, it just wasn’t to my taste.

I frogged a vest I was knitting for a friend because I didn’t have enough yarn. It made me so sad to unravel and wind all that fingering-weight wool into balls because I put so much love into every stitch. I’ll make something else with it. Unfortunately, I don’t have the right sized needles for the project I have in mind, so I’ll have to search. When I asked the woman in the wool shop for 2.75 mm. dpns (double-pointed needles), she said, “Ils n’existent plus.” Maybe the internet can help me here.

Anyway, I’m feeling a little down. Hopefully I’ll perk up when I see my children. There is a vacancy in my breast where they dwell. Every time I walk by their empty rooms, it aches.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>