Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Preparing for withdrawal.

Thursday, Nov. 9, 2006
9:57 a.m.
The next nonevent in my very dull life will unfold today. Hubby and I drive to Montreal, where we leave our car in long-term parking at the airport (now named for our recently dead, long-serving, ex-prime minister who may once have answered to the initials PET, the airport, not the car) and fly two time zones west to CaIgary, AIberta, sometimes known as Cowtown, home of the CaIgary Stampede. No, we’re not going to the stampede. Bite your tongue.

The piece that the T0r0nt0 Symphony premiered last fall on their Remembrance Day concert is getting another set of performances by the CaIgary Phil tomorrow and Saturday nights. Go here to see what else is on the programme and to note the gala reception being hosted by the CMC--we were rather surprised to learn that admission to the party afterwards, which is of course a fund raiser, was a cool C-note. Luckily, we get in free because a) my husband is the guest composer on the programme, and b) we are performing an hour of jazz standards (for free, believe it or not) at this event. He got an email just yesterday from the guy who will be joining us on sax that a couple, generous donors to the orchestra, are celebrating an anniversary, and we are to open with the C major Anniversary Waltz, not the Anniversary Song which my dad used to play all the time on his organ. So, last night I had to find that, both music and lyrics, and I also downloaded an incredibly sappy rendition of it sung by C0nnie Francis. Oh my god, the woman had a lovely voice, but she was sliding so much all over the place, I’m not sure if she herself knew where the pitch was supposed to be. Anyway, I have to learn that this morning, as well as practise the other jazz tunes, finish packing my suitcase, change our bed (it’s had the same sheets on it for far longer than I care to admit on the internet), deal with the laundry I just put into the washing machine, and probably other stuff, before we head out at 4 p.m.

So, all this to say that I probably won’t be updating for a few days. How will I be able to stand it?!


|

<~~~ * ~~~>