Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sunshine, lollipops and daffodils everywhere!

Monday, May 9, 2005
8:10 p.m.
Finally, and I do mean finally, the nice weather has come to the Townships. Today was absolutely glorious and I thoroughly enjoyed my walk into town. Firstly I headed over to the CLSC (let it suffice to call it a public medical clinic) in order to make an appointment to have some spots on my back looked at, where I discovered to my dismay that my own doctor has not been for the past two and-a-half years. How can this be? I just ran into her before Christmas and she assured me that she would see me (and my son, if he wanted) and I should just call and make an appointment. Quelle surprise! So instead I have an appointment with the resident in two weeks. Such is the story with socialized medicine: it�s free, but that�s about it.

Next I dropped off a roll of film at the drugstore, bought miso at the health-food store, and headed over to the sports centre where I made a physio appointment, as well as a date to have my shoulder reassessed by the doctor. This was followed by a visit to the classics department where Patsy and Willa were making tea (they made me some too) and we sat around and chatted until the two of them decided they simply had to go back to work. So I walked home, quite warm by this time, and proceeded to play on the internet while I ate my lunch.

Then a very strange thing happened. I own a cellphone, something I rarely use and which lives for the most part turned off in the napkin basket on the kitchen counter. On occasion, however, I find that its alarm-clock function is quite useful, and I will use it to wake me up from a nap, which I took this afternoon before belly dancing. I set the alarm for 4:10, and at 3:55 the phone started to ring. I of course thought it was the alarm and tried to turn it off, but suddenly realized that it was actually ringing, i.e. someone was calling that number. So I answered it, and of course it turned out to be a misdial. How likely is that? Hardly anyone has the number for that phone, it is rarely on, and the one time it rings when I don�t expect it, it�s a wrong number. Freaky.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>