Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Gas prices hit .50/litre in Montreal today.

Monday, June 9, 2008
7:08 p.m.
The saga of my mother continues. If you get bored, feel free to switch channels. This is going to be going on for a while.

She called this morning, I�m not quite sure why, except that she was feeling rather down and frustrated that she has slipped so much. She felt that she couldn’t do anything, couldn’t work in the kitchen for example. I don’t know what she expects to be able to do, but she kept asking, “What�s happening to me?” Of course I don’t have any answers for her.

I did, however, bring up a new topic with her, having first run it by my older brother. After my father passed away, she made him a joint owner of her house so that in the event she died, he would inherit the whole thing and there would be no succession duty to pay. Her reasoning was also that my other brother and I already have houses, but my older brother does not. At least, he doesn’t own a house, he lives on a kibbutz in the housing they provide for him. For years realtors have been knocking on her door trying to get her to sell. She lives in a neighbourhood quite popular with orthodox Jews because of its close proximity to an orthodox synagogue. She is also within walking distance of a subway station and during the week a bus runs almost outside her back door. She shooed all the realtors away, saying that when she wanted to sell, she would call them. Since then they’ve left her alone.

This little story is only important because at one time she was offered $500,000.00 for her place. That is a sizable sum. If my brother inherits this house and decides to sell it, he will be very wealthy. I don’t begrudge him a house, but we’re talking a half-million here. My husband and I paid for our house. My other brother got his practically for nothing from my mother (it was her parents’) and I think it is a little unfair that my other brother be handed one for free as well. But that is beside the point.

My mother is now talking seriously about moving into a residence. She has socked away enough money that she could pay for this easily. She doesn’t really have to sell her house, although she is talking about doing so. Today I emailed my older brother and put forward a proposition.

Little Princess is moving to that city to start her Ph.D. studies in the fall. Her boyfriend will be coming with her and will be looking for work (he has a B.B.A.). Because my mother’s house is in such an advantageous location as far as public transportation is concerned, it would be ideal for them to live there. They would pay rent, of course, and would be responsible for its upkeep. Because my mother couldn’t do anything and my brother would be an absentee landlord, they would basically have to act as homeowners and look after things that went wrong, etc. I have great faith in my daughter’s BF and in her and I think they would be ideal tenants.

My brother emailed me back and thought this would be a very good plan. It would also mean that when he and his family or I and mine come to visit, we will still have a place to stay. There will be no rush to empty our junk out of the crawl space (although we really ought to do that) and we won’t have to deal with the hassles of actually selling the place. My mother will feel that she has an escape hatch should she decide that residence living is not for her and I think this is very important for her psychologically. The chances are that once she is in a residence she won’t leave it, but for her peace of mind, she will know that she would still have somewhere to go back to should she decide differently.

I put this plan to my mother when I spoke to her, and she actually thought it was a good one. Little Princess talked it over with her boyfriend, and I think he is also in agreement. Now the problem is getting a place for my mother to move into before summer’s end and getting her “boarder” out. I think that may be the most difficult part.

As I was preparing supper she called again, this time wanting to know my brother’s address. Her plan was to take a taxi over to his house and confront his wife, forcing her to make peace. I told her I didn’t think it was such a great idea. I don’t think my sister-in-law can be gracious, and I also don’t think she realizes exactly how much my mother has deteriorated. But it is impossible to tell my mother not to do something once she’s made up her mind, so I wished her luck.

Is that crazy or what?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>